Decaffeinated Coffee ☕️

. . . Hello to all of my beautiful readers! ❤😌


This post was inspired by a Facebook picture that I shared some time ago, it contained a joke about decaf coffee, and I came to the realisation, that not many people may necessarily know exactly what it is, and what the process is that makes it decaffeinated.

“Is it even coffee if it’s decaf?” I ask myself this when I hear people ordering decaf at coffee stores 😅, but jokes aside- yes it is. 

Last week sometime, was the first time that I had tasted coffee without caffeine, and let me be honest with you….

In my opinion: It wasn’t great 😅😂 (Reason is- It tasted like it was lacking that one ingredient to make it great {Obviously🙄😂}) and in my case, perhaps it was also a mind thing? As well as my palate is use to the caffeine taste. 

I’ve done some research, and I found out that that’s because I had an espresso, I feel that if I had to have a cortado or flat white, It might have tasted the same as a regular caffeinated coffee. But I will be sure to do a blind testing when I get the opportunity and I will tell you about it 😁 
So what is decaffeinated coffee? 

It is simply coffee, with the least amount of caffeine in it – Because no process is able to fully extract all the caffeine in coffee. 

In one of my previous posts, I touched on the Coffee bean Harvesting and the process that it goes through, the same thing goes for decaf coffee, but there are more processes that follow: 

The coffee bean- Also known as a cherry 🍒, starts off with a 100% caffeinated level, but after the decaf process, the caffeine is extracted up to 97%- And nothing less than that.

There are various methods that are used, but they all start with steaming unroasted green beans. The beans are rinsed with a solvent and water that extracts only the caffeine while leaving the other flavours and chemicals such as; sucrose, cellulose, proteins, citric acid, tartaric acid, and formic acid (The Good Shiz) at their original concentrations and unaffected. 

The process is repeated 8-12 times until the beans reach the required 97% caffeine removal standard. There is still 3% of caffeine remained, due to It not being an easy process, considering that the coffee beans contain around 1000 chemicals that contribute to the aroma and taste. 

Water is used in the decaffeination processes, and because of that, the natural sugars and flavours tend to wash out , but by using a decaffeinating agent such as methylene chloride, activated charcoal, CO2, or ethyl acetate , it helps speed up the process and minimize the effects.

Essentially that is just a basic definition of decaffeinated coffee. If you do want to know more, feel free to let me know, and I will share some more information regarding the decaffeination process 🤗🙌🏼 

Until Next Time ☕️. . . 

One thought on “Decaffeinated Coffee ☕️

Leave a Reply

